That Moment Made Me Better

This past weekend, I took a trip home to California for my cousin’s wedding. If there’s a wedding to attend, you don’t have to ask me twice – I’ll be there in a heartbeat. It was a lovely ceremony and a fun reception.  I somehow managed to pull my parents and sisters out to the dance floor with me and just like that, BAM! – family dance party. We had the best time.

IMG_7019

Who doesn’t love a photo booth?

Sunday night consisted of a wonderful steak and shrimp dinner prepared by my mother, and the viewing of “BEING: Mariano”.  Most of you are aware of my insane love for the game of baseball and the even greater love I have for baseball legends such as Mariano Rivera of the New York Yankees. I tried to keep my composure throughout the entirety of the television special but it was far too difficult. Players like Mr. Rivera make me emotional and I really can’t explain why…but I digress.

Rivera was discussing his playoff mishaps and blown saves (which is difficult for any player to come to grips with) and he said something that changed my night and my outlook on the future, just like that.

“That moment made me better,” he said. A moment that could change the way a pitcher approaches the game forever, made him better. Not only does that say something about his faith, but also it says something about his personal strength. I fell in love with that quote and have been in love with it for a solid 24 hours. As a matter of fact, it’s all I’ve been able to think about.

We face adversity on a daily basis. Whether or not we choose to confront our day-to-day challenges, they’re present. Our faith and strength are tested most in moments of adversity and these are the moments that make us better.

“God, who foresaw your tribulation, has specially armed you to go through it, not without pain but without stain.”  – C.S. Lewis

I’ve come to learn that God doesn’t give us situations that we are unable to handle. The tough times bring us closer to our ultimate source of strength and comfort in God. Too often I’ve crept away from my faith in moments that frustrate me to the point of tears. I’ve been angry with God in many situations, questioning why he’s doing certain things in my life that only seem to make it more complicated. When I take a step back, I gain clarity. God wants us to thrive, live with joy, and look to him for guidance; he is in control, after all.

Tough times happen, but don’t let those moments change the game for you, either. Those moments make you better.

Leave a Reply

