Positive In Due Time

As I sit next to my planner, full of highlighter markings, scribbles, and arrows, I can’t help but realize that I am less than a week away from the busiest three weeks of my fall semester. It’s a little frightening, to say the least. The great news is, while on my drive home, I had a breakthrough.

(The number of breakthroughs I have while driving is steadily increasing. If anyone is willing to fund a cross-country road trip, I may have a cure for world hunger by the time I reach Georgia.)

I’ve spent hours dwelling on past mistakes, anticipating future problems, and worrying about burdens that either have been lifted or will be lifted as soon as I ask. In short, I’ve wasted precious time in growing concern about issues in which I have no control over. To say I’ve been stuck in a rut a time of two this semester would be an understatement. With so many questions of what I want to do with my future, I don’t have time to focus on the present. I was overwhelmed by self-doubt; everything was a competition.

Earlier in the school year, I started my Sports Writing class. After the first couple of weeks, I began to question what I was doing there – was this something that I really wanted? After spending time in prayer, speaking with my professor, and seeking out the advice of a few friends, I decided to stay. My mind was filled with so much slef-doubt and concern for my future that I almost talked myself into dropping a class that I would surely love, to take something I was far less passionate about. Now in my third month of Sports Writing, I can say that the Gabrielle of August was abducted by aliens and replaced with an impostor who tried to ruin her future in sports.

9fa2fbc9b8e4a1e8039d048b36616ec7

Negativity has blatant control over our lives, but oftentimes we are too wrapped up in these lies that we actually believe our situations to be far worse than they are. My Sports Writing class has been one of the greatest blessings of my semester and I wouldn’t have been able to experience that without patience. Sometimes we have to let God take us through the negative experiences (or what we think may turn out to be negative experiences) in order to enjoy the positive.

This may be one of the greatest lessons I’ve learned on my walk with God. Negativity will turn into positivity, and there is no need to fill your head with self-doubt and worry.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Trust that God will bring you the positive in due time.

Be blessed, my friends.

Leave a Reply

