Sleepless in Connecticut: Bedtime meditation

A good night’s sleep is one of the most difficult necessities of life for me to master. For whatever reason, I sleep like a baby five to six times a month, and spend the other nights tossing and turning for an hour or two before I finally pass out.

The majority of my sleeplessness can be attributed to the large collection of screens I stare at (usually housing Netflix and a variety of social media). Unfortunately, the beauty of technology is also ruining our beauty sleep, but what if that isn’t always the case? Don’t be so quick to blame Chandler, Ross, Joey, Rachel, Phoebe, and Monica.

Staring at the ceiling, phone away, laptop off – why can’t I fall asleep? It seems the only thing I forget to shut off before I head to sleep is my mind. My cure? Meditation.

Meditation is an intimidating idea for those unable to clear the mind. What I’ve resonated with in terms of clearing my mind is the use of guided meditations before bedtime. I’ve come across a few that I tested out and would love to share, in hopes they’ll work as well for you as they did for me. Happy snoozing!

1. Jason Stephenson of Relax Me Online put together a relaxation video with a 20 minute guided meditation and 30 minutes of peaceful music. This meditation received bonus points for the Australian accent.

 

2. This next guided meditation comes to you from the Meditation Oasis App. The app carries a wide variety of meditations for rest as well as balance, loneliness, pregnancy, etc. I used the “Relax into Sleep Guided Meditation” (about 18 minutes) two evenings in a row. It was that helpful. If you’re not interested in downloading the app, this content is also available via Meditation Oasis podcast.

3. The final meditation I tried out was from The Meditation Podcast. According to the podcast description, the meditations included contain “binaural beats” which help generate a meditative state by slowing the brain waves. It is recommended that you use headphones with this meditation, which is perhaps why it really didn’t work for me (it also could have been the fact that there was a truck plowing snow outside just as I was getting ready to sleep). The first three minutes of the podcast episode titled “Six – Falling Asleep” were a series of commercial-like promotions for the podcast content itself. I was mildly bothered by this until I realized that had they been at the end, no one would hear them due to the fact that they would be out cold. The nature sounds in this weren’t my cup of tea, but I do recommend it if that’s something you enjoy falling asleep to.

Guided meditations are one of the few ways I choose to wind down after a long day. If these zen moments aren’t really your thing, a little Sleepytime tea or Pandora’s Hawaiian Radio + the Rain, Rain App never hurt anyone!

IMG_7056

 

Leave a Reply

